اتفاقية منظمة التجارة العالمية بشأن تيسير التجارة

بوصول أعضاء المنظمة إلى اتفاق حول مبدأ تيسير التجارة، فإنهم بذلك قد استحدثوا إطاراً قانونياً جديداً لإصلاحات تيسير التجارة. وتحتوي الاتفاقية على ثلاثة أقسام هي:

  • القسم الأول: ويشتمل على الالتزامات العامة، نذكر من بينها الالتزام بنشر المعلومات المتعلقة بالتجارة والوصول إليها، وإجراءات الاعتراض، وتبسيط إجراءات التجارة وعمليات تخليص السلع، والتعاون بين الوكالات، والتعاون الجمركي عبر الحدود؛
  • القسم الثاني: ويشتمل على أحكام بشأن المعاملة الخاصة والتفضيلية الممنوحة للدول الأعضاء النامية والأقل نمواً، وبشأن المساعدات الفنية وبناء القدرات؛ و
    القسم الثالث: يُعالج الترتيبات المؤسسية والأحكام الختامية مثل العلاقة مع الاتفاقيات الأخرى الصادرة عن منظمة التجارة العالمية، وعملية انضمام الأعضاء للاتفاقية بعد دخولها حيز التنفيذ.

عملية التفاوض

تُعد الاتفاقية ثمرة نجاح مفاوضات طويلة بدأت خلال المؤتمر الوزاري الأول لمنظمة التجارة العالمية المنعقد في سنغافورة عام 1996، والتي أدت إلى وضع موضوع تيسير التجارة على أجندة جولة الدوحة لمفاوضات التجارة المتعددة الأطراف عام 2001، حيث بدأت المفاوضات في شهر آب 2004، وفوّضت بأن:

تُعتبر اتفاقية تيسير التجارة الاتفاقية الجديدة الوحيدة التي انبثقت عن جولة الدوحة للمفاوضات. لذلك، من الضرورة بمكان وضع الاتفاقية ومفاوضاتها في سياق تاريخي بغية استيعاب كيف توصّل الأعضاء إلى إجماع حول هذه المسألة، ولماذا. وحقيقة الأمر، أنَّ الدعم لم يكن مُحقَّقاً، ففي كواليس المفاوضات كان غالبية الأعضاء من الدول النامية تحشد الرأي ضد الالتزامات الجديدة وضرورة الأخذ بالحسبان قلة الموارد والاحتياجات الخاصة بكل منها عند تنفيذ الاتفاقية.

The WTO Agreement on Trade Facilitation


With the Agreement on Trade Facilitation, WTO members established a new legal framework for trade facilitation reforms. The Agreement contains three sections:

  • Section I with the substantive obligations, including amongst others, obligations on publication and access to trade related information, appeal procedures, the simplification of trade procedures and goods clearance processes, agency cooperation, as well as cross-border customs cooperation.
  • Section II includes the provisions on special and differential treatment for developing and least-developed country members as well as the provision of technical assistance and capacity building.
  • Section III is made up of two Articles addressing institutional arrangements and final provisions, such as the relationship with the other WTO Agreements, and the accession process of Members to the Agreement after entry into force.

Negotiating process

The Agreement is the successful conclusion of a long negotiating process that started at the first WTO Singapore Ministerial Conference in 1996, and lead to the inclusion of trade facilitation into the agenda of the Doha Round of multilateral trade negotiations in 2001.
The substantial negotiations process on trade facilitation started in August 2004 with the mandate to:

  • clarify and improve relevant aspects of the GATT Article V, GATT Article VIII, and GATT Article X with a view to further expediting the movement, release and clearance of goods,
  • draft provisions for effective cooperation between Customs and other agencies on trade facilitation and Customs compliance issues, and
  • enhance technical assistance and capacity building in this area.

The Trade Facilitation Agreement is the only new Agreement that has emerged from the Doha Round of Negotiations. It is therefore important to place the Agreement and its negotiating process in a historical context to understand how and why Members found consensus on this issue. In fact, support was not univocal. A majority of developing country members only rallied behind the negotiations against commitments that the implementation of the Agreement would take into account their resources constraints and specific needs.